broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have been to Avalon!
2002-06-04 - 16:03:55

WOW.

That's all I can say in a word about Wild Ginger Witch Camp. WOW.

I have returned from this weekend feeling more spiritually cleansed and empowered than I have ever felt before. I feel so confident and grounded in my spiritual path, that when my Mom asked me if she could tell my Dad where I was this weekend, I said Yes! (to realize what a big deal that is, check out this entry.)

There is so much I want to say about my spiritual experiences, but I still have so much processing to do. I'm so glad that I did do a bit of journaling during the Witch Camp or I don't know if I could capture everything after the fact if I hadn't. I also tried to write down all the new chants we used in ritual - harder than I thought! There were tonnes of them! But I did get a few titles of chant books from a cabin mate of mine, Clarity.

Okay, please bear with my disorganized thoughts. I'm just sort of writing things down as they come to me!

I went to the Witch Camp alone; none of my witchy friends could join me. And you know what? I really think that worked out for the better (for me, anyway). It forced me to be more brave and extroverted and I met so many wonderful women! I even bonded with a couple of women who came from physics/scientific backgrounds like me! We had wonderful discussions about spirit, magick, religion, ways of thinking. It was so terrific to discuss these things with people who had similar ways of processing information and experiences. Our big discovery this weekend: "AVALON IS NOT A METAPHOR!!" ;)

Yes, I suppose I should mention that the theme of Wild Ginger this year was Avalon. Now, I'm not big into Avalonian/Arthurian myths - not that I don't like them, I've just never been drawn to them - so I wasn't expecting to get a lot from the camp theme-wise. I was looking forward to becoming familiar with the Reclaiming Tradition and having more ritual experience. But this weekend really brought Avalon home for me, and I mean it when I say that "Avalon is NOT a metaphor!" (*BIG HUGS* to S. and L.!) Avalon is real to me in a way that nothing has been before. I have been to Avalon and back, and now the world is a different - and more real - place for me.

Wild Ginger (as I believe I've mentioned before) was held at UNICAMP, the same location as Wic-Can Fest. The latter is being held next week. (Yes, I'm off again, much to the shagrin of My Love.) But I can tell you know that it's going to feel very different for me at Wic-Can Fest this year. I will be in the same physical space, but spiritually it will be different. I know I will still love being there, but I am is such a different spiritual place that there is no way that it can't be different. We shall see...

This is it for now. I will be writing more over the week, but I've got to get to work. My landlady called today and said she wants to show my apartment to someone tomorrow night. (Oh, have I mentioned that I'm moving? I'll have to check back in my entries...) I hope this guy is good - my landlady deserves a great tenant!

BB, all!
Wyrdsister

She changes everything She touches,
Everything She touches, changes

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry