broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What I told my father
2001-05-29 - 22:46:50

Ever notice how I always seem to make my entries after 10pm? Hmm.

___

About the new colour scheme: I was getting really sick of the old one. Not that it wasn't nice, I just felt it needed a tune-up. But I'm kind of restricted to my colour palete as of late as I am using a computer with a 256 colour monitor (yech). (i'm such a computer snob... ;) So I stuck to the browser-safe palete, which is pretty ugly.

____

My Dad and I went on a canoe trip this evening, and I decided that out on the beautiful river surrounded by nature was a good time to tell him about my little "camping trip" next week.

I keep it simple: "I'm going to a kind of spiritual retreat at a Unitarian church camp." All true. ("don't lie to your father," echoes my Mom's voice) "What do you think of me going to an event like that put on by a group other than (the Christian) church?" I ask him.

"Well, I feel fine about it," he says. He then adds, "I'd rather you go to something like that than a witches' coven."

*sigh*

_____

I tell my Mom this after the trip, out of ear-shot of my Dad. She laughed. "Use the word 'pagan' instead of 'witch'," she suggested. I said that I didn't think my Dad would feel better about it.

I also made it clear to her that I want anything my Dad finds out to come from me; that it is my news and my life, and if I need to take the whole information-dispencing process slowly then that's how it has to be. She, not being too happy about this, mearly nods in understanding. I don't need her approval in this, just her compliance. Let's hope I now have that, shall we?

____

I'm getting really excited for Wic-Can Fest 2001!!! I'm calling PaganGrrl this evening to talk a bit more about plans for next Tuesday. (a mere 7 days from today, not including today of course) This will be a brilliant trip and one that I really feel I need. Funny how I feel the need to get away from being away from my normal life. %-)

Maybe that means it's almost time to return...?

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry