broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So Pagans eat brunch?
2000-06-18 - 11:18:43

I'll be embarking on yet another Pagan adventure tomorrow morning - I'm going to a by-weekly brunch of a local pagan group! I met a few of them at the amazing Wic-Can Fest last week, and Lee (one of the active members) suggested that I make contact with them by showing up at the next brunch being held the following Sunday, which just so happens to be tomorrow.

I'm interested in going, but of course I'm a little nervous. Not about the people I'm going to meet, but about meeting an openly pagan group in public. What does this do to my whole safe broom closet thing? I feel the red pipecleaner stretching under the pressure!

I am excited though because the contact person Lee has directed me to is a woman and she is Dianic, the tradition (or "trad") that I'm interested in following. The Dianic tradition of Wicca is very Goddess-focused; the God is generally not invoked or dealt with at all.

It's wierd; I'm sitting here discussing my "Adventures in Paganism" (isn't that a movie with Elisabeth Shue?) with the entire Internet, and I'm chatting with my brother on ICQ at the same time - he who has no idea about the path I'm following. I'm really not sure what he'd think. I'd like to think that he'd be supportive, maybe even a bit curious. But I think that he'd probably be concerned about me, not because he'd think I'd go to hell, but that I'd be getting mixed up in something "way too wierd." *sigh*

I've really got to start making entries during daylight hours, then maybe I'd have some sort of coherent flow within an entry. :) Hey, maybe I can get my butt in gear to do it tomorrow after brunch! (and before laundry...)

Merry Meet,
Merry Part,
And Merry Meet Again!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry