broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome to the Broom Closet
2000-05-03 - 22:05:21

Closets can be dark and cramped, but they're usually safe. Can you remember crawling into your closet or wardrobe as a child and hiding? building a fort? reading with flashlight? We liked those spaces so much because we felt safe and alone, on our own, with no one looking in.

I used to lock my closet door with me inside. I used a red pipecleaner to tie the two metal prongs that were attached to the door together so no one could get in. This would scare my mother, so I would always end up unwinding the red pipecleaner to open the closet door and show her that I was okay. But it was my decision to open that door and show myself, no one else's.

Now I'm a little older, and red pipecleaners are not as effective for hiding myself as they once were, although I still think they're pretty cool. ;) Now I'm in a different closet, hiding myself from people for different reasons. But the closet is ethereal, not real, and I'm hiding in plain sight, as it were.

So what am I hiding from?

I am Pagan, Wiccan to be specific, and wiccans and other pagans are not as welcomed or accepted as folks who belong to other religions. I was brought up Christian, and I (as we all do) live in a society where differences in opinion or lifestyle can be a cause for ridicule at best, and death at worst. So I am currently exploring this Wiccan path out of sight from most of those I know.

But it's hard to live alone in a closet. You need to stand up and stretch your legs and see the sun once and awhile.

So welcome to my Broom Closet. I've unwound the red pipecleaner for you so you can peek in and see me inside. I'll be telling you what it's like to walk this Wiccan path of mine, what it's like to be a Pagan in North America, and what paganism and wicca is all about.

Please drop by again, and stay tuned for the next Story from the Broom Closet. Blessed Be!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry