broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

First Step Out
2000-06-15 - 11:44:46

Wow, I can't believe I finally did it. One of my friends (who is also pagan) has been bugging me for months, and I've finally taken a small step out of the closet.

I told my boyfriend that I'm Wiccan.

Now, I didn't know how he'd take it. He's a very confirmed atheist and not really interested in spiritual matters at all, but I was still wary. I had no idea what he knew about paganism or Wicca, and whether he knew any anti-pagan propaganda ("they worship satan!" etc.) or if he knew what Paganism was really about. But I agreed with my friend (as well as a new friend I met this past week; Hello Faith!! :) -- I did need to tell him.

For awhile I thought "What's the point in telling the guy? Sure I want to have an honest, open relationship, but can't I just hide this one little thing?" Well, it isn't just one little thing, it is my entire spiritual beliefs, something that is truly at my core.

Then I tried to tell myself "He's an atheist, he wouldn't even be interested, so there is no point in even bringing it up." That didn't work either because even though he might not have been interested, I couldn't let him to continue I think I was Christian - that was just too big of a lie! :)

So, partly because I knew I had to and partly because of the most amazing week I had at Wic-Can Fest (details on that to come!!), I knew it was time to tell him. I didn't know exactly when I was going to tell him, though I knew it had to be this week. As it ended up, I told him tonight!

"And how did it go?" you ask, possibly with bated breath...

It went wonderfully!! In fact, I can't imagine it going better!! He did hear about paganism and Wicca before and he'd received accurate information (yay!). He also said he felt more comfortable with me being Wiccan than he did with the thought of me being Christian. Not that I need his approval, mind you! :) But it's good to know that someone I care very much about is not totally freaked about something very important about my life.

*Another blissful sigh* I think this has been a cool point in our relationship. I thought that, depending on his reaction, our relationship would either 1) end in pain and suffering, or 2) get better. Three cheers for Number 2!!

What a great way to end a night. :) Blessed Be!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry