broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Generalness
2003-09-16 - 12:47:33

Sitting: at the computer

Listening to: various .MP3s, currently "Jupiter Crash" by the Cure

Working on: a resum� for retail businesses

Contemplating: my unemployment

______

Well, it looks like I won't be going to Harvest Fest this year. Blech! I really wanted to go. But my deal with a couple folks on the organizing committee to work on the web site has fallen through, which means I won't have the money to go. Double Blech!! *sigh* I was really hoping for this job, too.

I'm just hoping that I'll be able to save up enough money over time to go back to school. High tech is a bust, and even when things swing back up, all of my credentials will be (and are already) out of date. And it's about time I start following my natural talents anyway and stop making my life harder than it needs to be. ;)

I've always taking the path of most resistence. I took the courses that I found hardest/most challenging in school and made that my major in university. When I'd pretty much conquered that, I moved on the computers, which came much easier to me but still wasn't my passion.

So I've decided to start making inroads into what I really want to do. Next month, I'm going to start volunteer training at a local sexual assault crisis centre. I did this kind of work about 10 years ago (wow, that's a LONG time ago!) and I've missed it ever since. And I'm good at it. I'm a strong woman and I enjoy helping other women become strong. So it's time. I've sort of come full circle.

I need to get my activist heart pounding again. It's been lying dormant for so long, that even though it never actually stopped beating, it races with anxiety when I think of moving into that world again. It feels like everyone else in those fields will have so much more experience than I will. Will I be too behind to keep up? Will I lack the knowledge and skills that everyone else has?

I know these are just my insecurities talking. I feel this way about any industry at the moment. I need to build up my confidence when it comes to any type of profession these days. :P But I figure if I follow my heart and go where my passion leads me, I'll have a much better chance of success -- true success -- than if I keep beating my head against the brick wall of other people's notion of success.

So those are my thoughts at the moment. I'm off to finish that damn resum� so I can take it into the store that I've been meaning to visit for the past week now. (I can work myself around anything. >:P ) I NEED A JOB!!!

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry