broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back home, safe and sound
2003-09-02 - 18:22:47

I'm back home! I get to cuddle with my cat and have Internet access again! Whoo-hoo! :)

I had a WONDERFUL time visiting my family back East. I love my parents, aunts and cousins. I got to spend some quality time with my Aunt J (you rock, grrl!) and with my parents. It's always so good to see them! We don't really live all that far away (10 hour drive) but finding the time to make the trip is not always easy. I'm so glad I had this opportunity!

My Love joined me back East for this past weekend as PaganGrrl was having the legal/family version of her wedding. It was PHENOMENAL!! Her family is just a fun-loving bunch - I've never seen that many people get up and dance. Both her parents even danced to techno!! LOL! I love it! The ceremony was lovely and I can't explain in words how gorgeous PaganGrrl was in her wedding dress. She was just stunning! Oh yeah, and her hubby wasn't bad either. ;) ("Hail to the Beautiful Bride!" "oh yeah, and the groom..." teehee!)

I think the cake stole the show at the reception. Even before the reception started, people were coming up to the cake in horror, wondering if it was going to fall over! You see, there wasn't a single right angle on the cake! Their cake was called The Mad Hatter - you can see a good example of it here. The icing on their cake was white and lilac, matching the silver and lilac colours of their wedding. When I was doing my M.C.ing at the reception I explained the cake to everyone, letting them know that they didn't have to worry about it falling over! :D And it was soooo tasty! It was a full four tiers (with PaganGrrl and her hubby keeping the top tier), so there was SO much cake to go around. PaganGrrl said it was the first time she saw people turn down a full piece of wedding cake! "Oh, that's too big! We'll share this piece between the four of us!" (Trust me, they were pretty big pieces!

The only kink in the whole day for me was the fact that I was so sick! :P By the time last Saturday had rolled around, I'd had a fever for four days that had been fluctuating between 99 and 100 degrees F that whole time. I felt sooooo horrible at the beginning of the day when My Love, PaganGrrl's brother and sister-in-law and I went to decorate the hall. When I'm sick, I don't usually take anything, I just let it work itself through. But when PaganGrrl's pharmacist brother suggested I start taking 1000mg of Tylenol every 6 hours, I thought it was a great idea. I went home after decorating and did just that. It took about an hour to kick in, but by the time the wedding ceremony was over I was feeling infinitely better! The fever came back the following day and is still hanging around, but I'm SO glad that I was feeling better for the reception! I think PaganGrrl was scared she'd have to find a new M.C.!

Well, it's time for me to go scrounge up some dinner. There is not much healthy food around here at the moment. I think My Love was living off snacks by the time he left! LOL! Maybe I'll have popcorn for supper...

BB!
Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry