broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

PaganGrrl's Handfasting
2003-08-18 - 17:40:21

Wow, it's about time I made a proper entry here, isn't it? Man, how time flies...

I've been busy the past week with weddings, travel plans, travelling, etc. It's nice to have a bit of time to sit down, relax, and catch up on things.

______

First thing I need to write about is PaganGrrl's handfasting! It was SO wonderful! It took place a week ago Saturday on a beautiful park-filled island in her city. She and her then hubby-to-be picked out the location a few weeks in advance. It was the perfect spot for a small, spiritual gathering.

PaganGrrl and her hubby invited a group of about 20 people, friends from work and around the area. Some were pagan, some were not, so I was anxious to see how everyone would react to the ceremony.

The ceremony itself was put together by PaganGrrl with minimal input from me. She did a wonderful job! She's so resourceful (for which I am very glad)! She and her hubby also wrote their own vows. :D They were wonderful vows. They'll be using those same vows at their legal wedding at the end of this month. :)

PaganGrrl and I started off to the island together, altar items (and the altar itself) in tow. We rode the ferry over then struggled with the 30 minute walk to the site. (That was the hardest part of the day!) We did a lot of clearing of the space before the guests arrived, both energy cleaning and physical cleaning. You could really feel and see the difference after we were done!

The guests arrived around 5:30pm, and we mingled a bit before we started. You could really tell who the pagans and non-pagans were! LOL! The nervous looking folks were the non-pagans. ;)

The ceremony went perfectly! PaganGrrl had written out the entire ceremony by hand into a beautiful handmade book she had purchased for the occasion, so we all had a perfect reference point. Four of our friends called the quarters for us, and I invited in the Goddess and the God. There was an empowering of the cord and rings, the exchange of vows, the binding of the hands, the jumping of the broom ("Who knew Home Hardware sold Pagan supplies?!" - PaganGrrl), and the sharing of the "wine" with all of the guests. And after the circle was closed, there was wonderful chocolate fudge cake to share! Yum!

I was nervous before the ceremony, but I felt wonderful during and after it, and a lot of folks said it was a wonderful ceremony. I'm so glad it went well! PaganGrrl and hubby looked so happy! And PaganGrrl was a bee-yoo-tee-ful bride! :D

Then we all headed back to PaganGrrl and hubby's place for the reception party. They had the even catered by a local eatery who did a wonderful job with the food! And they even had a keg of beer for us all! More yum! The party was great and went until about midnight. This worked out well as PaganGrrl lives in an apartment building, so chances are anything later than that might not have been happily tolerated. :) A wonderful time was had by all!

And this is for Scout: "How do you make Holy Water? You boil the hell out of it!" LOL! (he asked if I was going to write that in my diary, and I said "Just for you, Scout!" So there you are. :D )

It was a perfect day, as far as I'm concerned. It ment a lot to me that I could do something so special for one of my best friends in the entire world. I love you, PaganGrrl!!!

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry