broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wic-Can Fest 2003, part I
2003-06-17 - 23:05:54

Ah, Wic-Can Fest! It's always an amazing experience. This year was no different in the amazing department, though I had a rough start to the week.

Raevyn and I and our travelling companion Sony arrived at Fest around 1:30pm on Tuesday, June 10th. We were so excited to arrive! I hugged everyone in sight that I recognised, and Raevyn and I helped lug Sony's stuff to her cabin. Raevyn had forgotten that she had actually requested a spot in a cabin for the week, so there was one reserved for her when she arrived. But the brave grrl decided to hard-core it with me out in the tent. ;)

After Sony's stuff was stowed, Raevyn and I drove her van down to the fire pit area to look for a space. While we didn't get PaganGrrl's and my favourite space, we did get a great spot right behind Mr. Security's van-tent. :) PaganGrrl and I camped behind him the year before so I knew we'd have a good neighbour. :)

Once the camp was set up (tent, chairs, cooler) we headed back up to the main area to meet more people and hang out. And meet people we did! I introduced Raevyn around to everyone I knew, and met some new people in the process. That's what Fest is all about!

That night was great - all about hanging out with friends. I didn't do any dancing Tuesday night, just watching, and Raevyn and I got to bed at a decent hour. We'd been up for ages: I got up at 3:30am and Raevyn was up at 2:00am!! So it was sleep for us.

Wednesday morning found us mostly sunny - the rain didn't set in until that afternoon. I was feeling sore and a little dehydrated. :P So I had water with breakfast. Both Raevyn and I decided that we were still tired as as there were no workshops we really wanted to go to that morning, we headed back to camp for a nap.

Before we crawled back in the tent, I did the LBRP by the clothing required beach on the lake. Raevyn watched - she'd never seen it before, and I was glad to show her. I never really asked her how she felt about it as a little boy (Raevyn calls him the Frog Hunter) came by the dock and told us about his frog hunting expedition earlier in the day. What a cutie! After chatting with him for a bit, we had a nap.

This is where things go truly wonky for me.

I woke up feeling incredibly dehydrated, close to the point I felt when I attended my very first festival in 1999. I got horribly sick at that festival and even ended up in the hospital for an afternoon. Anyway, since that time, it's been a tradition for me to pick up at least 3 bottles of sports drink to bring with me to fest just in case I get very dehydrated and need to keep my electrolytes up. Well, I bought those sports drinks, and they were nice and cold... in the fridge at home. >:P So I started swigging back the water and trying to force down a granola bar.

But accompanied with this dehydration was a horrible feeling of not wanting to be at Fest. I felt like I had to leave - I just couldn't stand all of the people. I wasn't having a whole lot of coherent thought about it, I just felt like I needed to leave NOW. I think I would have gone home if I'd had my own car. But Raevyn had driven me down and there was no way for me to get out. I asked Raevyn if she would drive me to town after supper that night, and she said no problem. I thought that maybe if I could leave the site I could get a hold on myself and be alright. The feeling was so acute and so strong - it was overwhelming. I eventually couldn't contain it and had to leave the line up for supper. I borrowed Raevyn's keys and speed-walked to her van and waited for her to finish supper.

Whew.

______

As a bit of an aside, I had a long talk about this experience with my Mom last night. We talked for about an hour just trying to hash out what I could have been experiencing. There are upteen possible explainations, but I haven't come up with one I'm really satisfied with yet. I'll let you know when - or if - I come up with something.

______

Anyway, the trip into town was good. It did help calm me down a little and I managed to remain composed when I called My Love to hear him say he loved me. I didn't want to burst out crying on the phone because I knew it would make him worry more. So I just told him I'd had a rough time so far and I was taking a time out with Raevyn in a near-by town. What a sweetie - I love him so much!!

Then it was back to Fest. I decided no booze for me that evening. I hadn't had much the night before (just one beer) but I didn't want anything to mess me up further than I already was. I went to bed early by Fest standards (about 12am). Even though I really felt I wanted to leave, falling asleep to the drummers drumming and Mr. Security's tiki torch flickering was very lovely.

______

So those were my experiences of the first two days of Wic-Can Fest 2003. I'll be back tomorrow with the continuing story. G'night all!

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry