broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Wic-Can Fest 2003, part II
2003-06-20 - 11:37:47

Back to the updating! I'm listening to my Dragon Ritual Drummers CD right now. I'm not sure if it will inspire me or totally distract me from this entry! :D It's soooo good!

______

Also, before I continue with the Wic-Can Fest run-down, I want to comment on the comments left in my last entry. Ankh, I completely agree with your assessment of psychic overload. I've had similar experiences before, and this is pretty much what I've come up with. My only confusion is why it happened. I've been at Fest before and not had it happen. Was I just not prepaired enough this year, or was there something extra floating around? Thanks for your concern! :)

______

Okay! So where was I...

Yes! I had a good sleep on Wednesday night, and woke up Thursday morning feeling alright, but not great. I was still so tense - I just couldn't relax any of my muscles. I got the idea of going back into town and renting a hotel room. That way I could get some proper, non-stressful rest and take a shower without waiting in line at the camp showers. (The camp showers aren't bad, you just have to hit them at the right time or you'll be there forever!)

I talked to Raevyn about it and she said she'd be fine with me using her van. (I cannot convey here just how strong and supportive Raevyn was for me that whole week. I still feel like a heal because while I should have been there for her to enjoy all of her "Fest firsts," she was giving her energy to me. Raevyn, thou art Goddess!) So I told Rae I'd be back by supper time, and after breakfast I took the van into town.

I found a motel and shelled out the money for a day. Once in the room, I drew a hot bath (luxury!) and then soaked in it and cried. I don't always feel comfortable bawling in public, so I tried to let as much of it go as I could in private. The bath was wonderful for my days-long tensed muscles. (Relaxation is SO important, people! It's a wonderful skill to learn. I have to constantly work on it.) After that, I crawled into bed and slept for a few hours.

I made it back to camp for 5pm, supper time. Raevyn was getting a bit worried that I hadn't showed before then, but I waved to her in the supper line and ate with her once I'd got my food. The weather was rainy and drizley, but it was better than last year. :) After supper, Raevyn and I hung out with various friends including the wonderful An-Day and MSee. MSee is a fellow priestess of Timmy (*twitch,twitch*) <-- long story ;) We had a couple of hours of riotous laughter with them and their friends! It made me feel great to be around them.

Dispite the feeling good (and more solid than I had the whole week) I decided to spend the night at the motel. I'd already shelled out the money, and I felt I needed to solidify myself more and make sure I was fully grounded and secure before I spent the weekend at Fest. The weekend at Fest gets tripley crazy as the week because the population doubles and mixes with the rest of the energy. I didn't want to get another overdose of people's energy! So I left camp around 9pm, went to the motel, watched C.S.I. and slept the whole night.

Friday morning found me well rested and NOT tied up in knots! Whoohoo! :D I had a great shower and got all nice and clean, and even put on some make up. (spiffy!) It was so soothing to be totally clean, including my long hair. I always feel more myself when I'm clean. I checked out at exactly 11am (the check-out time) and headed back to Fest feeling great and ready to P-A-R-T Y? Because I gotta! LOL! ;)

______

Thus ends the crappy part of my week. From here on in, Fest became a purely wonderful place to be! I'm sure you'll enjoy the synopsis of the next couple of days. Stay tuned! I'll type more when I've rested my little witch fingers. <|:)

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry