broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Festing // Retreating into the closet
2001-06-09 - 15:19:24

So to what do we owe this middle-of-the-day entry? you ask? (or don't, doesn't matter)

I did go off to Wic-Can Fest as I said, but I decided to come back early. I was having a great time, but something inside me sort of snapped all at once and it seemed the only solution was to go home. Turns out I was right - I'm feeling sooooo much better now.

____

Wic-Can Fest is still a wonderful place to be. PaganGrrl noticed at one point that it felt she'd never left, and I agreed. There was something so deeply serene underlying all our excitement - a true feeling of home. We trolled about the first day looking for old friends and making new ones along the way. That's one of the greatest things about Fest: "you meet your best friends for the first time all over again" (a quote from a wonderful lady named Fi, who heard the quote from friend of hers...). There are several people without whose presence it just isn't Fest, and I think we were lucky to see them all:
in no particular order --

  • "Susan" (as PaganGrrl insists on calling her! ;) *tease*tease*) : a wonderful energy worker with one of the most beautiful and giving spirits I have ever had the pleasure of coming in contact with
  • Richard : lover of Fests, hummingbirds, and women, this man embodies Fest! PaganGrrl and were continually asking "where's Richard?" until he finally showed up on Wednesday afternoon. :)
  • Caer Avalon : this is the funkiest, hippest coven you could ever meet! I love every one of these people and I am soooooo glad to see them again! But of course, I always have to give a special "Hi grrlie!" to Faith - "Reiki-boobs!" ;)
  • Ch : fabulous fire-dancing, loin cloth-wearing, doobie-rolling pagan; I love his calm and caring manner

Disclaimer: This is by no means an exhaustive list!!! I've just listed a few people that I met at Wic-Can Fest last year, and have not included those I just met this year.

_____

Speaking of people I know, I'm starting to be concerned about the number of people I know that now know about this online journal. (did that sentence make sense? ;) I thought a lot about this on the way home yesterday, and I've pretty much decided that it's time to shield my writing. I considered removing all of my entries and starting again in another location (Bigboy-style). But I have decided to password-protect the diary for the time being until I decide something more permanent.

I know there are people out there who actually read my diary on a semi-regular basis and believe me when I say that I love you for it! So I've decided to utilize another one of Andrew's wonderful resources and start a Notifylist for those of you who would like to keep reading. If you are interested, please join the list (see above) and send me a separate email to [email protected] and tell me who you are and why you'd like to keep reading my journal. I'm not asking you to do these two tasks for narcisistic purposes: I just want to be very choosy about who I let into my personal thoughts and experiences.

____

So I guess that's it for now. I'll let you know about the exact ETA of the password protection soon, but it will definitely be by the end of this coming week.

Blessed Be, all!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry