broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Climbing
2002-04-10 - 01:17:12

I went rock climbing with my brother and a couple of his friends on Monday night. Mind you, there were no actual rocks involved - it was technically wall climbing in a big indoor gym. This is the first time I'd gone, even though my brother has been asking me for weeks to go with him.

I had a blast! I was a little surprised that I didn't feel at all nervous scaling the huge walls, occationally slipping off entirely and dangling several metres off the ground by a rope. It was fun! I thought I did pretty well for my first time, and I'm sure I'll be going again!

And of course, today (okay, techinically yesterday now, looking at the time) I'm sore. But it's a good sore. Really. It's the kind of sore you are when you've worked physically hard and accomplished something. It's good to feel like I've actually used my body for something other than just walking back and forth to the car. I am out of shape. Yes, I knew that before I went climbing. ;)

It is good to do honest work. I enjoy it. Problem is, I'm lousy at getting started. Someone I know said -- who was it? -- that I had "inertial issues." She was saying it in jest, not in ridicule, but it's a terribly accurate assessment.

Tomorrow (read: today, at a less ungodly hour) I'll be testing that inertial barrier. I need to get this apartment cleaned up before I bring home my BRAND NEW KITTEN early next week. !!!!!!!! (read: excited!) It's not just for the kitten; I need this place cleaned up. There is no way that I can lead a truly organized life if my personal environment is a disaster area.

Let's see if I can do more than just rock climb.

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry