broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A genuine entry
2002-01-19 - 01:31:10

I think this is the first proper entry in awhile. It's been ... an eventful past few weeks.

Though I'm feeling better now, I had a very low week last week. I was seriously questioning whether or not I should keep fighting this depression or just give up. I was feeling so hopeless, helpless, hapless, useless -- everything -less, I felt!

Since then I've had appointments with my doctor and a councillor, both of which are great people. I saw the councillor this past Monday for the first time, and she seems really great. I think she's someone I could really work with. :)

My doctor is great too. I see her more infrequently than I'll be seeing the councillor as the doctor is more for the medication angle of my treatment (which is a large component, but one that involves a lot of the "try this and wait" approach). I'm moving up a rung on my anti-depressant dosage and we'll see how I am in a month.

One thing I did learn yesterday: my thyroid levels are low. Now, I don't know a whole lot about thyroid hormone levels, but an underactive thyroid can cause/worsen depression, cause weight gain, dry skin, and a few other things I can't think of at the moment. Whenever someone is clinically depressed, the thyroid should be checked to rule that out. It has been checked in me in the past, but this is the first time that my levels have been low. They are not low enough for my doctor to put me on medication for thyroid yet, but it's low enough that it could be playing a part. "Sub-clinical" levels, she said.

So it's more of the "try this and wait." We wait to see how the slight increase in anti-depressant affects me. If the improvement is steadily upward, then that's good. If my mood plateaus again, which it has, then my doctor said she'd consider putting me on something for my thyroid and see if that didn't do the trick.

But first, we wait.

....

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry