broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Connections
2001-10-30 - 21:13:30

I'm tired tonight. I'm skipping my dance class as I have things I need to do before I go to bed (mostly work-task related -- *sigh*).

_____

I was looking forward to the show Alias; "at a special time" the channel said last night. Come to find out they're just reshowing the series premiere, which I've already seen. *sigh revisited*

Just for the record, I am now completely addicted to Alias. Have you seen this show? It's about a woman working for the CIA -- at least, she thought she was working for the CIA -- and ends up becoming a double agent trying to bring down the evil organization (known as "SD6") for which she actually works. If you haven't seen the series premiere and you read this diary entry in time, check it out. It's really worth the watch! Jessica Alba has had her ass officially kicked COMPLETELY out of the 'awesome babe superhero-yet-human' arena. (although, one could argue that she was never there in the first place... ;)

_____

I had supper with a co-worker last night. He's been experiencing some downers when it comes to work and relationships lately. He asked me if there is any job, person, or situation for which fundamentally changing who you are would be worth. I said "No. Absolutely not."

I told him that I thought changing yourself so radically for something external like a person or a job would be like tearing out your soul. Whomever you were born as and whomever you've become is that way for a purpose, whether it's to learn a set of lessons or to experience something different than you learned or experienced your last time around. I said that I thought the person you are at your core, because you are that person for a reason, was connected to something higher than ourselves. Whether you define that "something higher" as God or The Universe or The Source or The Goddess of 1000 Names is irrelivent for this arguement. But if you change your core self, you would rip yourself apart, and in that process you would rip out your connection to the Higher. And repairing that connection would take much longer than just one "go around" or just one lifetime.

He thought about it for a moment. Then he looked at me with the eyes of someone looking upon something profoundly beautiful, and said:

"You know, the next time I'm experiencing something hard at work or if someone is giving me crap about the way I do things or the way I do my job, I'm going to remember what you just said to me."

Remembering this moment almost brings me to tears. I mean, how often is it you connect with another human being this completely??

It's sad to think that some people go through their entire lives without experiencing this kind of connection.

I mean, is that really living?

:/

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry