broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Day of Ritual
2000-09-10 - 13:40:40

Might this actually be a spiritual day for me? Well, maybe...

I actually got up this morning and did a ritual. !!! *shocked gasps all around* Yep, I actually did. It is a ritual I learned at Kaleidoscope from a nice guy named Ricky. It's called the "Lesser Banishing Ritual of the Pentagram" (L.B.R.P. for short).

I'd heard of this ritual before but only in reference, never in detail. So I wasn't sure what to expect when I went to the LBRP workshop at Fest. I was curious as to what this supposedly well-known banishing was all about.

And I was surprised, actually. For a ritual being used in pagan traditions the LBRP is rather... well, Judeo-Christian. I know that sounds funny, and I'm sure the ritual was not what a lot of the people attending the workshop were expecting, but it actually makes sense to me. You see, the LBRP is completely based on the Qaballistic Tree of Life, and Qaballah comes from Jewish Mysticism. But when you hear the word "Amen" being used in a pagan environment, it can be a bit surprising. :)

The LBRP is designed to completely remove your own personal universe of everything - and I mean everything! It is supposed to clear away all things and leave a spiritual "vacuum" in which you yourself recreate your own universe. You put into it what you want. This is why banishings are good for beginning magickal workings as you remove all the crap around you and in you, and you are left with a space to completely create and shape reality at your will.

I discovered as I did the LBRP this morning that I really need to work on my visualization skills! :) I'm still at the point where I need to focus on the physical actions and words, so I forget to do the visualizing as I do the ritual. I know this comes with practice!

___

On the topic of ritual, I'll hopefully be going to an open ritual in a local park tonight. (Wow, a closetted chicken-wiccan doing witchy things in a public place?!? Oooh, will she survive? Stay tuned...) I say 'hopefully' as I have not heard back the exact details of the ritual yet. But I shall let you know how (or if) it goes.

___

And what are your thoughts on ritual? I'd love to hear them, so please consider signing my guestbook. It has become very lonely over the past few weeks! *sniff*


Relevent Links:

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry