broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What's with the ^%$&*@# PST?
2000-09-10 - 22:53:10

<rant>

If you're going to be a pagan and practice with other pagans, you should probably become familiar with the concept of PST: Pagan Standard Time. Who came up with this little invention? I don't know. But perhaps it's time they be severely chastised. ;)

PaganGrrl and I were first exposed to this concept at Wic-Can Fest and again at Kaleidoscope. We will probably be exposed to (read: inflicted with) this concept forever more. It is a long-running joke in the pagan community, but for PaganGrrl and I - it got old real fast.

PST basically means "it starts when it starts," or "it starts whenever we get around to it." Sure, being laid back and casual about things at Fest is fine. It is a wonderfully relaxed atmosphere where everyone should be free to be themselves and take their time. And it doesn't bother me that things run late all the time at Fest. After all, you're busy getting to know everyone. :)

But when PST pervades all aspects of pagan life, it's no longer a joke (IMHO). Yes, I know, I tend to be a bit anal about time. But puh-lease! Half an hour late and three hours early is a really big difference!

Where am I coming from, you ask? Well...

This ritual I mentioned I was going to in my last entry was supposed to be held today. Actually, it was held today, but I'll get to that.

A friend-of-a-friend was supposed to let the friend know when and where the rit was going to be. This f-o-a-f had told the friend that he thought the rit was today, in a local public park, at 7pm. But, the f-o-a-f also said that he'd be confirming these details with the friend yesterday, and he'd come to pick the friend up after work today.

So I headed over to the friend's place of work today to meet him and the f-o-a-f who would be taking both of us over to the ritual. The f-o-a-f did not confirm the place and time yesterday with the friend, and did not pick the friend up today after work. Grrrr...

So the friend and I headed over to a local hang out of the f-o-a-f to see if he was there, and sure enough he was. The friend got out of my car to call the f-o-a-f over to talk to him and ask him about the details.

"Oh, the rit was at 4pm. Yeah, they changed the time."

Oh.

They changed the time.

...

And you were going to tell us this WHEN?!?!?!!?

*growl* *snarl*

So yeah. That really peaved me. I was looking forward to seeing how this local pagan network operated.

I guess I found out.

</rant>

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry