broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Membership has its privileges
2000-09-01 - 20:20:16

Well, things have gone very well for me in the not-so-mundane world this week. :)

I'm officially a full-time employee now! (oooh, I'm sure that sounds mundane to some of you ;) I've been working on contract with this great company, and I really did want to stay there beyond my 6 month contract. And here I am, only 3 months into the contract, being offered a full-time position!! Great job, great pay - wow, things have really come together for me in the past year. Thank the Great Goddess!!

And another wonderful thing: I'm now part of a digital collective in the small town where I live. It started as the brain child of a local guy, and we are now 5 digital geeks strong! It's a coming together of different people with different but complementary skills of a digital nature (graphics design, web design, videography, writing and technical writing, promotions, etc.). The main purpose of this collective is to work on projects that, on our own, would be too large to wield on our own but too small to be lucrative. We are all people who have other employment but we want to put our skills to work for local artisans, non-profit groups - that sort of thing. I am sooooo excited to start working with these people!! They are such a great, quirky bunch - hey, I fit in so well. ;)

No matter how solitary I feel, it is still nice to be part of a group. All this week at work my co-workers were coming up to me to congratulate me on being "part of the team." It felt really great. Here were all these people, only aquaintences, that were genuinely happy for me! Just when I start to think humanity as a whole is a miserable lot, something like this will happen to remind me that maybe we really do have a chance at turning ourselves around.

It's also good to be back in a group with obvious activist tendencies. ;) I feel the need to start stirring things up again in the land of the status quo. I've been out of most things political in the past few years (and by "political," I don't mean "politics") and I'm feeling that it's time to get back into it again.

___

So why do I start these entries late at night when I can't seem to string together a well-structured and coherent thought? *grrr* I know this week I've been so busy at work I haven't taken the time to make an entry, even though I've had the craving to write.

Well, you know what? It's the long weekend here, and I'm deliberately hanging around my area and taking it easy. Also, it's supposed to rain tomorrow morning, so why don't I turn in now and write again in the morning? ... Think it will happen? (the best laid plans...)

Good night, and Blessed Be.

Hoof and Horn, Hoof and Horn,
All that dies shall be reborn.

Corn and Grain, Corn and Grain,
All that falls shall rise again.

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry