broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Fun and Trials
2000-07-24 - 20:59:03

Well, I had a great weekend, but boy am I tired today! Propping my eyelids open with toothpicks is starting to look attractive...

I had a wonderful day yesterday. I hung out in the market area of my city with a friend and her mother. We had a great buffet lunch in this terrific restaurant, then we browsed the shops for several hours.

And guess what I found! I found a store that sells drums!!! Not drums as in a drum kit you'd see on stage at a rock concert, but drums as in hand-made Northern African style drums. They were beautiful! I tested several of them out, as quietly as I could of course as I didn't want to completely disrupt the store. :)

Then I found one that had a beautiful medium-deep voice, and the head of the drum resonated when I laughed or spoke. I just couldn't leave it in the store after it spoke back to me, so I either had to start living in the store or bring it home with me. :) I am now the proud new owner of a wonderful drum! *joy!* I can't wait to bring it to the next Fest!

Tonight I have a big long phone call planned with that friend of mine who has arrived back on the continent. We have some major catching up to do! I have to tell her all about Wic-Can Fest now! :) And I can't wait to hear all about her experiences abroad.

When she was in Europe, my friend tried to look around for any sort of "witchy" activity going on. In one of her emails she talked about how she'd come up with one group who were basically bloodletting Satanists calling themselves witches. Yuck. That's all wiccans, witches and pagans need: the evil Satanist stereotype. That's all the details she gave me, so I'll be asking her for more details tonight.

I'm feeling the need to centre tonight. I feel fairly grounded, but I feel like I need to get my head together. I was very unproductive at work today (the first half of this entry was written there), and my parents are coming to visit on Wednesday. Now, this is a great thing; I'm SO glad my parents are coming! I can't wait to show them my apartment and to go do touristy things with them.

Now, my mom knows about my "interests" in pagan spirituality and wicca. I gave her Margot Adler's Drawing Down The Moon for one of her birthdays, and this past Christmas she gave me Nicola de Pulford's beautiful Book of Spells. She also knows about the Fests I've gone to and the one I plan to go to in a couple of weeks. So what's the problem?

She wants me to tell my Dad.

...

Can you say "eeeek?!"

There once was a time when I figured I'd be happy with my father never knowing about my spiritual orientation. I figured "why bother the guy?" "why put him through that?" "why put me through that?" But I do see the wisdom that my mother is trying to convey; how could I keep something that is so important to me secret from him for the rest of both of our lives?

After Wic-Can Fest, I fully understood that I wasn't going through a "phase" and that Wicca was the spiritual path that I'm ment to follow at this point in my life. Where it leads could be anyone's guess, but this is where I need to start. I need the Goddess and the lessons she has to teach me. So I couldn't just wait until this "wiccan-thing" passed so I'd never have to mention to Dad why I was going on so many "camping trips" with PaganGrrl. (he obviously doesn't know her by that name! ;)

And now my parents will be here in two days, and be here for at least five days, and sometime in these next seven days I need to get up the courage to have a talk with Dad. *sigh*

I don't want to do this right now. I still think I should tell him... later. "How much later?" Mom would ask. "When I'm ready, which is my call," I would answer. My mom is not one to pressure me into things, but she also does not lie. She has told me that she will not lie to Dad, and if he asks her directly where I've gone and what I've been up to, she will tell him - not the details, but the basics, and she will refer him to me. I know it would hurt him to think that I'd been lying to him. And I have been: I told him I went to a national park when I actually went to Wic-Can Fest. *double sigh*

Well, it's perhaps time for that small centering ritual. Maybe I will do it in the bathtub...

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry