broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Simple Pleasures / Reality
2000-07-22 - 20:43:13

So far this has been a great weekend.

I had a great sleep last night. I went to a casual discussion on e-commerse this morning. I washed my new fabric for making moon-pads (reusable menstrual pads) at the laundromat. I got my hair cut for the first time in 2 1/2 months. I didn't let my boyfriend's bad mood drag me down. I had a lovely nap. I talked to a friend who has recently come back from Poland, and she's coming to my area in about a week and a half. (*joy*) I washed the dishes. I made a wonderful spaghetti dinner with strips of grilled garlic chicken. Now I'm making an entry in my electronic broom closet. Then I'll be cutting out my fabric for moon-pads, and maybe even sewing a few. After that, I'll have a bath and go to bed.

Simple day, huh? But it's be one of the best since I moved here. Not because my days have been boring or lousy, not at all. It's because today I noticed and enjoyed all the simple things in life and all the things we take for granted. I have everything I need around me, and I feel like I'm on the verge of accepting that I have everything I need inside me. It's when I feel like this that I feel closest to the Goddess.

______________

After I made that entry about "'reality moments" last week, I received a wonderful email from Ealasaid. She said she knew exactly what I ment in my entry. She had talked to her friends about moments like these and none of them could relate.

This is why I found her email so valuable - I realized that the only other person I'd ever mentioned reality moments to, my mom, had never experienced them. This means that until Ealasaid had written me, I had never talked to anyone with similar experiences.

But even though I'd hadn't, I always felt that I must not be the only one. Now, isn't that odd? Normally when we humans go through strange or difficult situations we feel so isolated and alone. We feel like we must be the only ones who feel this way, and when discover someone else has experienced the same thing we are completely and wonderfully amazed! We aren't alone! It's not just me!

So why have I always felt - even though I'd never met anyone who had experienced this before - that I wasn't the only one? Where was I getting my information from?

______________

I think it is the enjoyment of these simple pleasures, like a hair cut or talking to a friend, that can allow us to be truly happy. I think it keeps us grounded, something that I think is difficult to in this world.

Well, the train of thought has ground to a halt. Till next time....

Blessed Be!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry