broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pagan Speak: May 2003
2003-05-31 - 19:41:54

Topic #1 : Music (thanks to Nesaia)

What role does music play in your spells, rituals or meditations? Share lyrics or experiences when music "made or broke" the spell. Are there particular songs that you feel are "magical?"

While I've yet to use music during spell work, I sometimes use music during meditation. I find I can let my mind wander more easily and ignore the outside world when I focus all my attention on the music.

There is a certain piece of music I've used for a focused meditation that I like to use when I'm stressed or having a hard time getting to sleep. I used to listen to this piece of music at night as I fell asleep, and I developed a strong connection with it -- so much so, that I almost immediately go into a semi-trance when I hear it. This has changed over the past few years as I did not listen to this piece of music as much as I used to. But there was a time when it was almost like a switch being turned on when I even imagined the music - I'd immediately be deep in my meditation.

As for songs that I feel are magickal - well, there are tonnes of those! But I'll share one with you. When I hear it, I usually picture myself dancing inside the chapel of the kids' camp I used to work at. That's where I first meditated upon this song. I hope you enjoy it!

Higher Love
- by Depeche Mode

I can taste more than feel
This burning inside is so real
I can almost lay my hands upon
The warm glow that lingers on

Moved, lifted higher
Moved, my soul's on fire
Moved, by a higher love

I surrender all control
To the desire that consumes me whole
Leads me by the hand to infinity
Lies in wait at the heart of me

Moved, lifted higher
Moved, my soul's on fire
Moved, by a higher love

Heaven bound on the wings of love
There's so much that you can rise above

Moved, lifted higher
Moved, moved, by a higher love
By a higher love

I surrender heart and soul
Sacrificed to a higher goal

Moved, moved by a higher love
By a higher love

_____

BB!

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry