broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pagan Speak: April 2003
2003-04-13 - 23:40:13

Pagan Speak collaboration for April 2003

Topic #3 : What Are You Reading?
What was the last book(s) that you read or what favorite book would you recommend to others? When in the bookstore or library, which section do you head for first? Do you prefer fiction or non fiction? Do you read mostly for enjoyment/entertainment or for knowledge/information? What media besides books do you read? What is your literary skeleton in the bookcase (such as comics, fashion mags, tabloids, showbiz gossip, sports)?

Yay! This collab is almost too easy for me, as I read a lot. But I decided to treat myself as I wrote about my feelings about the war last month.

Okay, what am I currently reading? The main book I'm reading is Compassion and Self-Hate: An Alternative to Despair by Theodore I. Rubin. In short, it is brilliant. This is a book in which you see yourself on every page. I have long known about my own self-hating behaviours, but this book has given me words to describe and detail them. I can name these behaviours and sometimes even their sources, and when you can do that you can work to change them. I HIGHLY recommend this book to pretty much everyone! Mind you, I think you'd need some sence of self-awareness to get anything from this book. If you don't know yourself at all, you won't be able to see your self in it.

I recently read Diary of a Witch by Sybil Leek, which I also loved. I really like her writing style and her plainly put but well thought out views on things. I'd recommend any of her books; not that I've read them all, but I'm sure her wonderful style would be present in all of them. I plan to read My Life in Astrology by her next.

After I'm done the Rubin book, I'm going to read one by Sylvia Browne, The Other Side and Back: A Psychic's Guide to Our World and Beyond. I know very little about this book, but it is a gift from my mother, and if she recommends a book, it's got to be good!

It's not a book that my Mom or I would normally pick up. It was going around in a lending circle around her office, so she read the first few pages and was hooked. She said that there are things in the book that she'd really like to hear my thoughts on in terms of my own beliefs and in terms of Wicca and Paganism. Wow, huh? :) I'll have to read it soon because she asks me about it every time we talk. ;)

When in the bookstore or library, which section do you head for first? Usually the "Occult," "Witchcraft", or "Computer" sections. I guess the first two are obvious, seeing as you're reading this diary. ;) The third is because I'm a computer geek - or I at least like to think of myself as one. You can find me drooling over the networking, XML, and SQL books most often.

Do you prefer fiction or non fiction? Do you read mostly for enjoyment/entertainment or for knowledge/information? I equally enjoy both fiction and non-fiction, but the vast majority of my reading material over the past many years has been non-fiction. Reading for "enjoyment/entertainment" and "knowledge/information" are really the same thing for me. Yes, I am a braniac. ;)

What media besides books do you read? I read the odd magazine. My favourites are SageWoman, PanGaia, Ms., Bitch, and Herizons (I have a subscription). I also read a few online comics: PvP - Player Vs Player, Diesel Sweeties, Get Fuzzy, and Oh My Gods - a pagan oriented strip. I also get my pagan news from Wren's Nest and the Pagan World Report, where I'm a regular contributor.

What is your literary skeleton in the bookcase (such as comics, fashion mags, tabloids, showbiz gossip, sports)? Hee hee, that's a fun one! Actually I can't think of one right now. Yes, I'm serious! :D When I was younger, though, I did hide the fact that I liked a series of books that had a teenaged girl and boy as the main characters who solved mysteries and also had a romantic interest in each other. I guess it was a cross between Nancy Drew and a more intelligent Sweet Valley High (which I loathed). I think I hid it because I so wanted to separate myself from the Judy Blume and SVH readers (yes, I was an intellectual snob back then too) and I thought the romantic theme in the book was too close to that. Maybe I didn't want to reveal I was interested in boys, either. I was always the one who said to my friends "What do you need a boyfriend for?? You don't need a guy to make you happy!!" But, well, that's a whole other entry! LOL!

BB, all!
~Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry