broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The past few days: A Summary
2003-04-28 - 12:26:17

I sat down at the computer hours ago to make an entry, and I'm only getting around to it now. I've been chatting with half the people on my IM buddy lists this morning. It's great to make contact, but it can be time consuming.

I have so much to write about, too, that's why I wanted to get an early start. Here it goes!

______

My magick class on Friday evening was wonderful, as always. Our homework for the next two weeks is to practice our pentacles - drawing them in the air and visualizing them. I also need to finish my robe (just the cuffs) if I can get my sewing machine to fully cooperate, and decide how I'm going to decorate my wand. That is, if I decide to decorate it. I got some good advice from a fellow student on how to protect the wand - rub it down with beeswax. I'll have to drop by Michael's craft store to see if they have any good beeswax to use.

The only hitch in the class was one of my fellow students. He's a wonderful and giving man and I have always enjoyed being with him and talking to him. But lately he has embarked on a crusade against one man in our area, and his entire life is now devoted to this crusade. It's all he ever talks about. He's eating, breathing, and sleeping it. You can't get him to focus on anything else.

So at Friday's class, he was scattered and unfocused unless he was talking about this other man. I told him at the beginning of the evening before class had started that I understood how important this action was for him, but that I had come to class to focus on class and I didn't want to talk about this other man at all that evening. Even then it was difficult to get him to stop talking about it (okay, impossible).

Part of this crusade includes removing the other man from the head of a committee. So my classmate brings a petition to class to get others to sign to support the man's removal. HE BROUGHT IT TO CLASS!!! He brought a document designed to help split apart the Pagan community to a magick class where people are coming together to learn. I was appauled. I am appauled. And more than that, I am horribly worried for this man, my classmate. He has changed so much in the past couple of months, and changed so fast. I've never seen anyone spiral this far down in such a short time in all my life. Usually it takes ages to get this dark. I'm frightened for him.

I'm not at all frightened for the other man, the one heading up the committee. He's got a strong sense of self and is used to stirring up sh*t of his own in the community. This is only a small pain in the backside for him. :)

______

Yesterday I went to a beautiful Beltane ritual at a local Unitarian Church. It was organized and put on by a few pagan members of the congregation and was geared towards children and helping them understand the importance of the season. I loved it!!! I went with my good friend Raevyn and her three gorgeous children, and we all had a grand time!

And get this: I ran into a woman I knew from university! We saw each other and immediately recognized one another, but we couldn't place where we'd met. After talking for a few minutes we figured out we knew each other from the Science faculty at the same university. We were so surprised to run into each other like that, and to meet someone from our former city who was also pagan!! (The city where we used to live was quite Baptist and convervative.) So we traded contact information and we'll be getting together soon! What a great find! :) She and her husband and beautiful 5 month old baby all go to the Unitarian Church and say they love it. (well, the baby didn't say much, but she looked very happy) So this is just one more reason for me to check out the church!

______

My brother came to visit this weekend. He stayed at a friend's house for two nights and at My Love's and my place for one night. We got to hang out on Saturday and Sunday. My brother is such a riot! He always makes me laugh. :) He drove up on his new motorcycle (*drool*) and looked every bit the biker part with his snazzy black leather jacket and boots. My friend Jay said he looked like he'd walked out of The Matrix. LOL! And he was right! My brother is now a scary biker dude. :D

______

Today I got up at a decent time (8:30) and did my yoga. I found that it was definitely less painful today than when I started it last week. ;) I was sore all last week, partly from the yoga, and partly from the huge amount of walking, running, and sprinting when I was trying to catch the bus last week. That was the most physical exercise I'd had in years! (can you say "lazy ass?" I knew you could)

______

So that has been my weekend. How was yours?

Bye for now,
Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry