broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Instead of saying "bite me, fan boy"
2003-04-28 - 21:52:29

As I've mentioned in a few of my past entries, there has been a minor "witch war" taking place on an e-group I moderate. Joy.

And because I'm the moderator of the group, I have been dumped right in the middle of all this bull-pucky ("What did you say?" asked My Love when I used that expression), whether I like it or not. Double Joy.

And I've come to find out that now my name is starting to be dragged through the mud because some people don't like the way I've handled the bull-pucky that I had no part in creating. Double Joy with Sprinkles.

So here, for your reading pleasure (and I use that word very loosely) is the email I just sent to this list. I tried to imagine I was a bear of very little brain and I needed everything explained out to me as would a child. As there aparently are some very large children on this list.

Enjoy:

______

Hello all,

This post has to do in general with the issue of moderation of posts on the OPO group, and specifically with the issue of the recent temporary removal of a member of the OPO.

This post could end up being quite long, so ask that you bear with me as there is a lot of important ground to cover.

First of all, I would like to very much thank the people who have emailed me in the past several days with their comments and questions. I appreciate the fact that you respect me enough and have the courage enough to comment and question me directly. I've appreciated all the of comments and support as well. You have helped me out a great deal.

Secondly, for those in the community who have chosen to speculate on my motives in a vaccuum, you will be particularly interested in what I have to say in this post. Perhaps you have already formed your opinions of me as a human being and nothing will sway that, but I ask that you at least take the time to read this anyway. Then you can go back to what ever you were doing.

** Note: I have spoken to Pong* about this issue directly on several occations. Today he gave me his personal permission to discuss all of this openly and to use his name. I say this to let you all know that I'm following my own rules. :)

Okay. Here it goes:

On Wednesday, April 23, 2003, I made a post on the OPO making it clear my policy on posts containing personal attacks. The policy is as follows:

**** Personal attacks will NOT be allowed. If you attack someone personally, you'll be moderated. If you continue to attack someone after you've been moderated, you'll be removed from the group temporarily. If, once you've been admitted back to the OPO group, you STILL attack someone personally, you will be BANNED. ****

URL: http://groups.yahoo.com/group/ottawapagansonline/message/2464

I felt that these sentences comprised a clear and easy to understand process that is used to deal with those members who made personal attacking posts. My understanding of the above statements is this:

1. If you make a post on the OPO that attacks someone personally, you will be moved to "Moderated" mode, meaning your posts will be read by the Moderator (i.e. me) before being approved for posting. ** Chance #1

2. If you are in Moderated mode and continue attempts to post personally attacking material, you will be temporarily removed from the OPO list. You will be welcomed back in a few weeks. ** Chance #2

3. If, after you have returned to the OPO group after you have violated Chances #1 and #2, you will then be banned from the OPO. ** Chance #3. You've Struck Out.

If anyone needs further clarification on the above process, please contact me directly.

As many of you know, Pong has temporarily removed from the OPO. No, Pong is not banned, as is the current rumour. Pong is temporarily removed, and after a few weeks he will be welcomed back to the OPO with open arms. After that, having used up his first two chances, I firmly expect Pong to be the model electronic citizen. Right, Pong? ;)

It has been speculated upon why Pong was temporarily removed from the OPO while no other members have been. Again, I thank you OPO members who have brought your questions to me directly. Here is why.

After OPO Post #2464 was made (see URL above) Pong was on Moderated status. This is Chance #1 in the above process. Once on Moderated status, Pong continued to try and make posts containing personally attacking material. As I'd stated in Post #2464 as well as informing him personally, Pong had just used up Chance #2, and was summarily temporarily removed from the OPO.

Others indeed made personal attacks in their posts on the OPO as of late. All of these members have been moved to Moderated status. Since then, none of these other recently moderated members have attempted to make any more posts containing personal attacks. Thus they have not used up Chance #2 and have not given me reason to temporarily remove them from the group. I assure you that if any attempts of this kind are made, they will also be temporarily removed from the OPO. They would also be welcomed back after a few weeks.

So why was Pong temporarily removed from the OPO list and no one else displaying the same kind of behaviour was? It is simply because Pong was the first and only person on the list to cross the Second Line I'd identified when I made Post #2464. That's it, that's all.

I hope this post has made sence to everyone. If not, please do contact me at [email protected] I want to make sure that everything is as clear as possible to all OPO members. Rumours can make fun entertainment (if you go for that sort of thing), but they're not very good for the whole and accurate story.

I thank you all for your time and, hopefully, your attention.

In Her Service,

Wyrdsister

______

*sigh*

That had better end it.

* PS Pong is not the person's real name or Internet handle. I just came up with Pong as the most obscure and unrelated name I could come up with off the top of my head. So if you know a Pong online that like to make with the flamage, I'm not talking about them.

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry