broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Where's the love?
2001-12-09 - 13:24:45

Well, I think this is my third hour online, so it's about time I make a little entry!

I've been hanging out at Mysticwicks this morning, trolling through the posts. I do like the community, but as it's become bigger and bigger, the level of bickering and disrespect has grown so much! Why is that? Why can't everyone just chill out and really discuss things rather than arguing about them?

Just as with any online community everyone has a certain level of anonymity and some people really take advantage of that. Some people take the opportunity to sound off in ways they would never consider in the presence of other people. They decide that manners and respect can be thrown out the window when no one is there to actually hit you when you act like a jerk! *lol* All that amounts to a bunch of wieners virtually jumping up and down trying to get the last word.

One thread I read today was started by someone who asked if the Mysticwicks staff had considered having a women's-only forum. Talk about backlash!!! The level of anti-feminist hatred was disgusting. Here are a few examples for your reading "pleasure" (read: education):

Chibi-Fallon posts...
"An all women's forum... frankly the idea scares the crap outta me. You don't see the dudes asking for their own forum. All the freakin' PMS that would be goin' on in there. It's just not a good thing. We just don't need one. What are we gonna talk about that we can't discuss with guys? Our nails? Guys are better to talk with 9 times out of 10 anyway. I wanna talk about my new TV! And my buddies new stereo system (it's so sweet, I need to get myself one ^^). There's no point of making it. No one male or female wants to hear about how crappy your period is anyway."

And that, my dears, was posted by a woman. Can we say, "missed the point entirely???" *sigh*

Now, granted, most of the posts were not like this at all, but of course it's the hatred-filled-ignorance-advertising-dumbass posts that stand out the most. (okay, that that was less than respectful, but this is my diary and not the public forum! :) I posted a reply, being respectful I might add, and added a P.S. to Chibi mentioning that I don't get PMS and I'm a feminist. ;}

On my good days I can answer backlash like this with logical, well thought out arguements. On bad days I just want to scream "GO TO HELL!" Then I remember that I'm Wiccan and I don't believe in hell. *hehehe paganjoke*

Talk about someone being so constrained by society's gender stereotypes? She's proud of being a tomboy; well good for her. Does that give her the right to trample on me for my woman-identified, raging warrior woman, spiritual, crochet-loving, Alias-watching, justice-seeking, planet-rocking, bootilicious, feminist way of looking at the world? NO! Now take your ball and go home until you can play well with others. *grrrrr*

________

In other news, I've started collecting images for a new layout for Raevyn's diary. (Don't worry sister, help is on the way! *LOL* I'll help you with those images soon!) I asked her what sort of look she'd like. She said, "well, I like purple..." So that's what I'm working with. I'll divulge no secrets here - I want Raevyn to be the first to see the draft layout!

______

Hmmm, you know what? It's lunch time and I haven't even had breakfast. Time to correct that situation...

P.S. I can't believe I used the word "bootilicious." *shiver*

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry