broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can you feel / a little love?
2001-06-15 - 08:46:09

This is going to be a great weekend. :)

I'm off to the big city for a concert. But not just a concert - the concert.

I'm going to see...

DEPECHE MODE!!!

Okay, okay, so they're not everyone's taste, but for me they are my favourite band ever. Their music, their lyrics - all incredible. It reaches deep down into me and touches where physical touch can't, where hopes, dreams, fears, and fantasies reside. That's what makes music so good, right? What music people really like is the stuff that penatrates their souls and changes them in a fundamental way. Depeche Mode does that for me.

And how good are my seats?

FRONT ROW CENTRE!!!

Oh Blessed Goddess of Seating! I thank and praise thee for thy gifts!! :) Can you believe it?!?! I actually have the ticket in hand, but I don't think I'll completely believe it until I get to the venue and walk to my seat. *shiver* I've been to the venue before, though many many rows back, and at the end of that concert my friends and I walked down to front row centre to see what it was like. Even with out the band (The Cure) on stage, it was breath taking. I'm going to have to be careful to not be one of those grrls who swoon and pass out at the sight of their favourite band. Actually, I'll probably have to be less careful of that and more careful of not having an orgasm. ;} heheheh...

How do you feel about your favourite musical artists? What about their music does it for you? Did you always like their style of music, or have your tastes changed over time? I think I've always being into 80's music (specifically 80's alterna-techno-pop from the UK - does that make me a music snob? ;). And Depeche Mode certainly fits that mold. They started the whole techno-pop thing (I'd argue anyway), and they do it so well! Dave Gahan's voice, Martin Gore's lyrics, Alan Wilder's musical engineering (though he's no longer a member of DM) and Andrew Fletcher's ... clapping. ;) (if you're a fan, you'll know what I mean!) *sigh* pure bliss....

Okay, enough of that drooling on the keyboard, go to the concert all ready! :) I leave town in a few hours - the drive is going to seem to take forever!!

____

Another benefit of this trip to the big city is the people I'm going to visit. My brother lives there, my wonderful funky bro! Hanging out with him is really a trreat because we really haven't lived with each other in the past two years. Him - going on extended work terms as part of his degree. Me - moving out of the house and getting a job. We try to take advantage of every opportunity we get.

I really value the relationship my brother and I have developed. We used to do our share of fighting and insulting each other, of course, but we've always fundamentally got along. He's such a blast to hang out with, and if he didn't think DM was "too poppy and happy" (what does he know?!) I'd be dragging him the the concert with me. At least we'll be able to hang out one evening while I'm there. I hope he doesn't drag me to rock climbing or something...

____

Just to let you wonderful people know, I'll be password protecting my diary when I return from the big city. My apologies for not getting back to you all personally in the past few days - a little busy around here. But I promise I will as soon as I return.

Have a fabulous weekend! I know I will! :) :) :) *drool!*

<|;}

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry