broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

What season is this?
2001-04-18 - 13:42:11

The weather is just so mixed up here. It can't seem to decide what season it is.

Yesterday: beautiful, warm, sunny. Today: windy, cold, and blizardy. Yep, a blizard is going on right outside my window.

*sigh*

It actually reminds me of me, does the weather. I can't seem to make up my mind as to what season I'm in either. Yes, I'm content and no, I'm not as sad as I was, but I'm not completely happy yet either. Maybe things will improve over the next week. At the minimum, my doctors have upped my medication dosage. :/

How exactly is the best way to get out of depression? You know, the more I read, the more I realize how little anyone really knows about this. I know I have to make my own way through this, build my own path, but it's still nice to have guidelines. Unfortunately it looks like I have to make those up as I go along as well.

___

Yesterday, I stopped by my favourite "all things mystical" store here in town, only to find that it's going out of business! I walked into the store to talk to the owner (a wonderful, deep and authentic woman - everyone loves her) and to offer my condolences. I felt horrible! Had business been bad? I knew it had been good before. Had the rent been increased? Had there been problems with local fundie churches?

So I walked in and said hello and asked about the closing. She says "yes I'm closing and I couldn't be happier!" !!! She told me that it was just time to pack up and go off in search of adventure. The store had taken her on a wonderful spiritual journey over the past five years of her ownership, and now it was time to move on. She'd made the decision on March 1st to close, and by word of mouth news had spread about the closing. So even before she had marked down any of her merchandise, people had been showing up in droves to say goodbye and to give her full price for her stock (and to stock up on their own supplies, I'm guessing!). This was wonderful news and I congratulated her heartily. You should have seen how light she was - I swear she was partly floating. :)

I was there about an hour just talking with her and chatting about our lives as well as what was going on in the local area with regards to "less conventional ways of knowing." She was rather connected, by way of her store, to the sort of underground current that flowed through this white middle-upper middle class government / university town. She said things were really starting to break open, which pleased me to hear. Hopefully people here will start to be able to be more open about who they are and what they believe.

Not that the Baptist church (and other fundie movements) would like them to be.

___

Well, on this snowy, blizardy day, I believe this is just the perfect time to treat myself to a nap.

Blessed Be, all.

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry