broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A good but wierd day
2001-01-03 - 15:04:08

Today started, as usual, with my annoying alarm going off. But this time I couldn't seem to get myself out of bed.

Not a good way to start the new year. The phrase "Start as you mean to go" has been bouncing around in my head all day.

This doesn't inspire my confidence. ;)

Funny thing though - it's actually turned out for the better that I stayed home. You see, the morning after I flew back to my parents' place for the holidays, I got a call from a friend of mine from work. She lives in the same town as me and was walking past my place the night before when all of these fire trucks and police cars showed up - right in front of my house.

To make a long story short - or shorter - a chimney for the oil furnace in the basement had colapsed and carbon monoxide was filling the building. One of the other tenents had called the fire department and all was well, no damage to people or property.

But since no one at the site knew I wasn't home (the fire department saw my car in the parking lot and assumed I was home) they had to break into my apartment to see if I was okay. They had just finished doing this when my friend told the landlady's ex-husband that I had flown home that morning. So she called me in the morning to let me know what had happened.

No big problem, except for the tiny shards of glass that they left on the floor by the door. I didn't even notice the "sparkles" on the mat until the day after I'd arrived home, so I'd managed to drag glass all over the main room of my apartment. Very dangerous! :/

So anyway, what does this have to do with staying home today? Well, some work crews came in today to work on the chimney and some other problems in the building (did I mention that my building is about 200 years old?), and the fire marshall needs to come by and inspect the apartments to make sure we all have working fire alarms. I prefer being home when they're doing this as I'd rather not have people tramping through my place when I'm not here. After all, who knows what sort of books and things I've left about? What would my landlady say or do if she found my copies of "The Holy Book of Women's Mysteries" or "The Witches' Quaballa?" (both very good books, by the way) This diary is Stories from the Broom Closet after all. ;)

~~~

Tonight some friends and I are going to see Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon with Chow Yun Fat and Michelle Yeoh. I looooove Chow Yun Fat, so I can't wait! We've been hearing incredible reviews, so I think it should be fun.

~~~

Is it just me or have I been writing about rather mundane things lately? ... no, I don't think it's just me. I'm just coming out of my Samhain-to-Yule phase, so expect more writing in the future. <|:)

BB, all...

~Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry