broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Home for the Holidays
2000-12-20 - 23:11:11

*blissful sigh*

Things are really looking up. I haven't written much in the past month or so because I've been having a bit of a rough time. I'm wondering if I'm a bit backwards compared to some other diarists - some people seem to write more when things get difficult. I tend to turn inward.

Which is not necessarily a good thing, I'd like to point out. Turning inward can prevent you from letting out emotions that really should be let out. So everything stays buried and pushed in and you end up doing damage to yourself.

But I digress...

Yes, things are looking up. I fly home (or should I say "home") tomorrow morning to hang out with the fambly for the holidays, and I'm really looking forward to it!! I haven't seen them in a few months (my brother, even longer). My parents have been an enormous help over the past few months, and I can't wait to thank them in person.

So I have packing to do tonight, and I'd say I'm about half to three/fifths done. I have all of the gifts I'm giving packed and most of not all of the clothes I'm taking laid out, ready to be packed. Then I have to get together all of my bathroom stuff (shampoo, toothbrush, makeup, etc) together and packed tomorrow morning - got to put the face on, ya know. ;)

As for the rest of the stuff I wanted to get done ... weeeeell, not so much. I wanted to do all the dishes, tidy the apartment and clean the fish tank. So far I'mmmmm... 0 for 3. Not the greatest ratio. But you know what I'm going to do instead? Finish packing then have a nice long relaxing bath. :) Ahhhh! Heaven. I'll just have to clean when I get back from my trip. I just hope the fish will make it... *gulp*

I'm also going to be getting together with my fantabulous wiccan sisters, PaganGrrl and MoonDance!! We'll be celebrating the Winter Solstice on the evening of the 22nd because PaganGrrl doesn't get to the city until that day. So we'll be gathering at MoonDance's to trade a few Solstice gifts and to perhaps make a little magick. ;) Our celebrations will be fairly low-key as MoonDance is feeling a little "behind" in spiritual pursuits.

I think she feels a little inexperienced because PaganGrrl and I have been to a few festivals and have had the opportunity to do a bit more study. She was teaching English overseas in various countries for almost a year and was really quite isolated. I've been trying to tell her to not be so hard on herself and to not downplay her experiences, but I think it will take a little more prodding on my part to make her feel at ease. ;)

Since I'll be away for just over a week, you may not hear from me during that time. I will have access to my brother's computer (little does he know...) but chances are I won't be able to write a diary entry. I'm still in the broom closet, remember. ;)

So I say Happy Solstice and Happy Holidays all round! I wish health and happiness for you and yours, and may the Goddess bestow Her blessings upon you. Blessed Be! <|:)

~Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry