broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On a plane to the Prairies
2000-11-02 - 19:30:36

Diary entry - Nov. 2, 2000

I'm flying!! I'm flying!! Wyrdsister the Witch is flying! ... Okay, so I'm getting a little help from a plane, but this is still flight!

I'm not actually posting this from the air - any cellular sort of transmition is of course not allowed from the air, and I'm not carrying any technology capable of that anyway. :) This is all fine by me - I want this plane to stay in the air!!

Have you ever flown before? I have, and I love it. Take-off is such a thrill - you get onto the runway, taxi for a few more feet, then the jets kick in and you're zooming down the runway! Then just when you think the runway is going to disappear beneith you, you are up and away! I'm always amazed how quickly planes gain altitude. Good thing, I suppose. :)

It must be amusing to my fellow travellers as all during take-off and the 10 minutes following I am glued to the window. Did I mention I have an aisle seat? *kidding!* I must look like a giant eight year old. :)

This trip, I'm flying at night. The air is so clear! Grandmother Moon is right outside my window, a few days short of Her first quarter. Currently all is black outside except for her, but right after take-off was another story. Lights were everywhere! They dotted the hidden landscape in intense clusters, like circuits, and branched off into the electrons of moving cars. With no visible landmarks, an uneducated eye such as mine could only guess what locations lay below.

(oooh! Orange juice and honey-roasted sesame sticks! Airline treats. :) Mind you, we are getting chicken dinner later! But I digress...)

Every now and then I can see the reflection of the Moon in a body of water below. The first few times I saw this, I thought it was a vehicle with it's high beams on, it's light reflecting off trees or a rock face on the side of the road. As I tried to track this light, we moved over a larger body of water and the full reflection of the Moon came into view, leaving me momentarily breathless. It was so beautiful!

Aside: honey roasted sesame sticks suck. Ask for pretzles or peanuts.

Well, now its time for tonight's in house entertainment: "Autumn in New York" staring the waify Wynona Ryder and the over-rated Richard Gere. :) But hey, I'm not paying for it! Wait, I bought the plane ticket, so I guess I am...

Blessed Be, all!


P.S. "Autumn in New York" is a horrible movie - decent premise, abysmal execution. Only watch this movie if it's free and it's forced upon you by someone you really love. BB!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry