broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Daylight Savings," my ass...
2000-10-30 - 18:42:02

It's "daylight savings time" again. I hate the loss of daylight in the later part of the day. Sure, I'm happy to have the extra hour of sleep in the "fall back" stage, but the novelty soon wears off when you realize that the darkness has been unnaturally rolled back and the sun goes down at 4pm.

I'm Canadian. I'm probably more north than you are. <|;)

And so I begin my most difficult survival stage - hanging on to any bit of light I can until Yule, Dec. 21, when the night is the longest, the Oak King defeats the Holly King and the light begins to return to the world.

*sigh*

Hanging on through this time is hard for me. The darkness saps the meager reserves of energy I have at this time and pulls me under. I fight it back, lighting every candle and turning on every light in the house. And this year I don't have to hear the slightly serious mutterings of my father about wasting electricity. :) I'm paying for the electricity this year, and if I need it, I'm willing to pay for it.

All Hail the Goddess for giving us electricity! Instant light! Instand heat! Could Ra do any better?? *teehee*

Now it's time for me to take a bath and crawl into bed, early tonight for the first time in months.

My sleep schedule has been so out of whack from being ill that I can't drag myself out of bed in the mornings yet I can't get to bed before 12pm (and later...). So last night I decided I would stay up all night and get to bed early tonight to try and rectify the situation. With the darkness coming so much earlier, I think it's going to work.

Good night everyone. Sleep tight. Don't let anything you haven't given permission to, bite.

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry