broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goodbye, Pierre Trudeau.
2000-09-29 - 20:29:37

Pierre Elliott Trudeau:  1919 - 2000

It's a sad day in Canada today.

Yesterday afternoon around 3pm EST, Pierre Elliott Trudeau died. For those of you who are non-Canadians, Trudeau was the 15th (and 17th) Prime Minister of Canada, and is widely recognized as one of the most dynamic people in the history of the country. He was loved, hated, honoured and adored. Everyone has an opinion on Pierre Trudeau - it is impossible to be apathetic.

There has been a great outpouring of emotion and condolences in the capital city today. People are bringing red roses (his favourite flower) by the dozen to lay on Parliament Hill in his memory. And people are doing the same at his family home in Montreal, PQ, where he passed away.

This is really a sad time.

___

Well, so much for HarvestFest. I've come down with the cold that everyone at work seems to be getting. With the gentle insistence of my beloved Mom, I have decided not to push myself and take off into the woods, especially at this time of year! Mind you, they are calling for great and WARM weather this weekend.

There is actually a weight lifted off my shoulders now. For some reason I think I will be better off NOT going to HarvestFest. I'm not yet sure why.

At least this way I will be able to visit Parliament Hill tomorrow. Trudeau will be lying in state there tomorrow and Sunday. Morbid? Yes, I think so. But perhaps necessary - a good form of closure for the Canadian people.

That's it for now. Blessed Be!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry