broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Snippet from 9/11
2001-11-12 - 17:58:30

Here's a snippet of an email from the now infamous "9/11." The email is a reply from me to my Mom. Her words are in the traditional "&#gt;" comment symbol, and I've editted some details of my words which you'll see in the "[]" brackets:

______

>Stay away from downtown [City] for awhile,
>especially the American and Israeli embassies,
>both of which have been evacuated.

[My Love] is now at his mom's place. His building downtown has a few embassies in it so everyone in the building was advised to leave. He sounds shaken up and says his mom is too.

Our nuclear medicine business unit is pretty well shut down, I've heard. All of the products we manufacture are distributed through the States, so that's not happening. I think this means that production will either have to slow significantly or stop all together. Some of their products have very short half lives so there would be no point in manufacturing them.

What does it feel like for a young person viewing all of this? I guess I can't really say, yet. I'm sure it will be different for everybody. I'm just feeling a dull, numb, stunned-ness.

While a lot of the people around here are listening to radios or trying to pull something up on the 'net (not easy!), others are working away as normal and I don't know how they're doing it. Is that what I should be doing? Just working away like nothing has happened? I feel like I should be at home kneeling in prayer. I don't feel like I'm doing anything to help by writing a standards document for [Internet]-based work team web sites, or setting up meetings with people to talk about work. What is R. doing?

______

BB,

Wyrdsister

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry