broomcloset

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's more like an Election Flu...
2000-11-19 - 23:11:48

I'm sure I'm not the only one that is rather bored of the whole election thing. And I don't just mean the American fiasco - municipal elections just finished in my province, and the Canadian federal elections are in 8 days on Nov. 27. Note to Florida: we'll know who our Prime Minister is before 11:59pm on Nov. 27. Betcha 5 bucks on it, too. ;}

I consider myself a politically-minded person. Even though I find politics a downer most of the time, I still feel that I have a right and a duty to vote and do what I can to make my country a better place. Unfortunately, I don't know how many of my peers feel as strongly about voting as I do. In the past few weeks, I have spoken to several people who just don't care and don't plan to vote. Personally, I don't think you have a right to complain about the government or the state of your country if you don't even bother to vote. This is why I make sure I cast my ballot - complaining rights! *hehe*

But at least the campaining will all be over in a week. In Canada, that is. ;) Oh, the online satire news mag The Onion has been publishing the best articles about Serbia sending peace keepers into the States until democracy is restored! Brilliantly hilarious stuff! And one of the best satire troup ever, the crew at This Hour Has 22 Minutes has come up with the best referendum question for Stockwell Day. You must check out their site!

~~~

Spiritually, not much has been happening with me lately. I have been doing well otherwise, though. I've been going through a low spell (not a magick one) over the past couple of months, but I've been doing a very good job of working my way out of it, if I do say so myself. :) It's hard work but I know it's worth it. I just have to keep reminding myself.

I've been consciously reclaiming my time: I'm staying at home more in the evenings and working on my own projects rather than try to fit in as much external activity as I can. I'm getting to bed at a more reasonable hour these days - tonight excluded - and I've had more energy during the day in the past week. I'm having a physical on Tuesday morning, and I'm going to start using the gym we have at work. (I work at a very health conscious company, so if you are looking to improve your health and well-being, there are a lot of resources in-house as well as help finding outside resources. The Goddess puts you in the right places!) In essence, I'm making sure I'm running my life, rather than some external "life" running me.

~~~

Overall my fish are doing well, but one of them died this week. (My mom asks "isn't this too depressing of a hobby? are you sure you don't want plastic fish?") This was a real tragedy though, as I had nothing to do with my fishy's death. I arrived home from work early this week to find one of my fish stuck in one of the plastic plants by his dorsal fin. It was horrible! :( You could tell he had struggled because the base of the plant was half uprooted from the tank's gravel. So I freed him from the plant, shed a few tears and said good-bye to my fish. I think the other two miss him. I know I do.

~~~

Well, it's the end of another too-short weekend and it's back to work tomorrow. At least I don't have an 8 o'clock meeting tomorrow! <|:)

Blessed Be, all!

|

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

guestbook

contact

DiaryLand

random entry